Monastery of St. John the Theologian and Arsenios the Cappadocian in Souroti
Near with the city of Thessaloniki in the village of Souroti located the Monastery of St. John the Theologian where live 67 nuns by strict Mount Athos rules.
The monastery was founded by the Elder Paisios (before the baptism Arseny Eznepidis) from Mount Athos who was the spiritual mentor of the inhabitants of the monastery. Arseny was born in 1924 and Saint Arseny of Cappadocia (1841-1924), baptised him and giving his name (Arseny) and saying prophetically that he wanted to leave behind him the monk.
In 1950 Arseny came to Mount Athos becoming a novice of clergyman Cyril, and after 4 years he took part in the competition on behalf of Philafe's disciple of Father Simeon. Two years later Father Simeon monastic tonsured him in honor of the Metropolitan of Cessrian Paisius II.
In 1966 Elder Paisios was placed in the hospital where a group of women believers turned to him with wishining to establish a monastery in which they could live and pray following strict Athos rules. Soon Paisios received the bishop's blessing for this good work, and in 1967 the first sisters settled in the monastery.
The elder Paisios spiritually nourished the monastery for twenty-seven years and twice a year came to visit the sisters, until his death on July 12, 1994, and was buried precisely in the Monastery of St. John the Theologian in Souroti. From this day on the night of July 11-12, in the monastery is held the All-Night Vigil where take part thousands of pilgrims. On January 13, 2015, the Holy Synod on the basis of a unanimous decision in the framework of the meeting chaired by Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew ranked Paisios among the saints.
Thousands of pilgrims annually come to the monastery to pray at the grave of the Elder Paisios, and to venerate the relics of Saint Arseny Kappadoki, the godfather and mentor Paisios. After Paisios death, the Elder Paisios left the world a spiritual heritage - his teachings and prophecies.